Day 218: My first final exam, FAILED!

Yesterday I went to bed just a little bit late, reviewing and revising my notes, preparing for my first final exam. I must have seen that formula a million times, but it is just confusing so I even think I dreamed about it: the trace of the product of two matrices is the product of the transpose

I woke up early this morning, I went down to get some breakfast and I went to my exam, still thinking about the formula. I have many things going on in my mind: don’t forget your ID or they won’t let you present the exam.  I walked to the venue of my exam. It is not in my university, but in some theater, a little bit far. I keep walking, in the rain, still repeating that formula, thinking of my ID and looking for the venue. It is supposed to be a theater, but I can’t see it. Fortunately I still have time, my exam is in 15 minutes. I walk, I ask people -I need directions-, I am getting a little bit nervous.

I see the the entrance, but now the formula is a little bit blurry. Do I have my ID? Have I brought a pencil for the exam? The trace of two matrices is the product of the transpose… I see many faces, many student that just like me are a little bit nervous. I see many faces but I don’t see familiar faces. None of my classmates is here. Am I on the right venue? My exam is in just 10 minutes now, and I need to find a pencil -and now I also need to find a toilet.

Are my classmates inside? Am I a little bit late? I did my best to wake up early, but maybe it wasn’t enough. I write them: Where are you? The exam is in just 5 minutes!. No answer, maybe they are inside already. The trace of a product is the matrix transpose of… Now my formula is wrong. I need to find a pencil and where is the freaking toilet?!

Finally I received a message from one of my classmates: Hey, the exam is in four hours, didn’t you check? Go back to your house and sleep! Now it all makes sense. No familiar faces and no classmates since there is no exam yet.

As I walked back to my house, I could only make fun of myself. I was a bit too early for my first final exam. If it would have been the other way around, if I would have been four hours late for my exam, I would have failed my master by now! I have my pencil, I have my ID prepared and also: The trace of the product of two matrices is the product of the transpose

Failed!
Failed!

2 comments

Responder

