Day 235: I’ve never been a big fan of the Natural History Museums!

I’ve never been a big fan of the Natural History Museums. You go there and you see a bunch of bones and pictures of how we imagine life was like million years ago. It is not a beautiful exhibition and is not artistic, so basically you are expected to interact with the pieces shown and understand about life facts and many theories.

Dino at the Natural History Museum, London
Dino at the Natural History Museum, London

I’ve never been a big fan of the Natural History Museums. When I was young and I went to a museum like that, if the pieces shown didn’t move or you couldn’t interact with them they were boring and I didn’t care for them. Many of the things shown I didn’t understood them since they require to read. Now, although I understand the exhibition, I feel like I might be a little bit too big to interact with the pieces -and with children there, 20 years younger than me. Maybe there is only a small age target for people that will understand the show and that are genuinely interested, and I am for sure no longer in that gap. You really start wondering if you are supposed to be there when all the parents there look at you as the creepy guy playing with stuff designed for a guy that’s half your age and half your height!.

Natural History Museum, London
Natural History Museum, London

I’ve never been a big fan of the Natural History Museums, but I went to the one in London, and I have to say that I was impressed. At first I thought I would only see the beautiful building and the architecture but really the way the pieces are shown is fantastic. You want to see it all, from the piece of the giant sequoia to the big dinosaurs. When I saw the enormous whale in one of the room, I could only wonder how on earth do they managed to put that thing inside the building.

Whale at the Natural History Museum, London
Whale at the Natural History Museum, London

I’ve never been a big fan of the Natural History Museums, but the London one really stands out. There is a room in which you can not only understand earthquakes but be in an actual one! It is really impressive how you get into a small asian mini-market and then the ground starts shaking. From my vast experience of earthquakes in Mexico City I can say that it feels almost like a real one, only without wondering if you will still be alive in the next few minutes.

Earthquake simulator at the museum
Earthquake simulator at the museum

I’ve never been a big fan of the Natural History Museums, but this particular museum is worth a visit, not only for children but for adults too. It has something to offer for everybody and the best part is that it’s free! It opens every day from 10:00 to 18:00 and you can visit here their website.

Natural History Museum, London
Natural History Museum, London

Responder

